Western Region Soybean Board

About Us

Welcome to the Western Region Soybean Board

The Western Region Soybean Board (WRSB) is the Qualified State Soybean Board (QSSB) for soybean farmers in the national soy checkoff program. Soybean farmers from Arizona, California, Colorado, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon, Utah, Washington and Wyoming contribute to the Western Region Soybean Board.

How It Works

The soy checkoff is supported entirely by soybean farmers with individual contributions of 0.5% of the market price per bushel sold each season. The efforts of the checkoff are directed by the United Soybean Board, composed of 78 volunteer farmer-leaders often nominated by their state-level checkoff organizations, called Qualified State Soybean Boards. The nominees are appointed to the board by the U.S. Secretary of Agriculture.

How It’s Funded

As soybeans make their way to the elevator, the river or wherever they are scheduled to go after harvest, and the grain checks are cut and signed, you’ll notice a line item for your commodities checkoff. The soy checkoff, as well as other checkoffs such as sorghum, dairy or wheat, is entirely supported by the farmers that grow their commodity. Soybean farmers make individual contributions of 0.5% of the market price per bushel each season. Half of that contribution goes toward the national checkoff — the United Soybean Board — and the other half goes toward Qualified State Soybean Boards (QSSBs).